Discrimination in Work– Relevant Federal Laws

Source: Flickr

Discrimination in employment is forbidden by a series of federal laws.
These laws are the following:

* Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended (typically referred to as “Title VII”);
* Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA);
* The Age Discrimination in Work Act of 1967, as modified (ADEA);
* The Equal Pay Act of 1963 (EPA);
* The Civil liberty Act of 1991 (frequently referred to as “CRA of 1991”); and
* Section 501 of the Rehab Act of 1973, as modified.

Title VII prohibits companies from discriminating on the basis of race, color, religious beliefs, sex, or nationwide origin.

The ADA prohibits employers from discriminating in employment on the basis of impairment, in the public sector and in the economic sector, but omits the federal government.

The ADEA prohibits employers from discriminating against individuals 40 years of age and older.

The EPA forbids employers from discriminating on the basis of gender in how they spend for substantially comparable work under similar conditions.

The CRA of 1991 offers monetary damages (consisting of punitive damages) in cases of intentional (willful) discrimination and clarifies provisions about disparate effect actions.

The Rehab Act, Area 501, restricts discrimination in employment against federal staff members with impairments.

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) implements the primary federal statutes restricting discrimination in employment. The headquarters of the EEOC lie in Washington, D.C., and there are local workplaces and regional field workplaces throughout the country. Inspect telephone info under Federal government listings for a contact phone number, if you believe you might have been subjected to work discrimination.